Checking In

Checking In

Many of you have written kind words of encouragement, and well wishes, for my new position in Brooklyn. Thank you.

2015-06-30 16.04.41-12015-07-10 11.19.53

The gig is going well, has its own unique sets of challenges, and, like all endeavors – each new day brings something different to the table. It’s exciting, and scary, all at the same time.

In short – life’s good, personally and professionally.

2015-07-10 11.17.54-1

However, this week was less good than the others.

  • My ten year old celebrated his birthday – 1,500 miles away from me. That was the first birthday I’ve been away from any of my children.
    2015-07-08 18.10.25
  • The next day, our 19 year-old Kitty died.IMG_4035
  • I haven’t seen my family in weeks.

Fortunately, there is light at the end of the tunnel.

  • We’ve leased an amazing house, steps away from the train, in a beautiful town, with great schools. Our new landlord is also a great guy, which is a plus. We move in, in just over a week or so.2015-07-03 10.03.102015-06-28 09.52.18 HDR-12015-06-29 18.04.27 HDR-1
  • I’m flying back home, to pick up my boys and pets, and start our cross-country trek to New Jersey, to our new home. My wife will fly out to meet us, once the moving truck is loaded up.2015-07-11 02.42.02

Our lives are anything but conventional at the moment.

I hope to be close to approaching something normal again, soon.

Registering for school. Attending my kid’s sporting events. Meeting our new neighbors. Doing nothing on a Sunday, with my family around me, Going to the City with my wife for dinner.

I know to many, it’s inconceivable to move your family halfway across the country. Yet, we’ve done this four – or five? – times now.

You go where life leads you, and try to embrace Discovery. Reinvention. Experience.

2015-07-05 14.08.58

Admittedly, it is never easy. But, it is always rewarding.

It is how we have come to have so many amazing people in our lives.

I simply hope that I have done the best I could for my family, that we are together and happy, and that we love one another.

What else is there?

Until next time.

Leave a Reply

