Transactions, and Relationships

Transactions, and Relationships

It’s the relationship that is valuable, not the sale.

300 Words, 2 Minutes

I think a lot about why I do, what I do.

It’s not terribly complicated – I mean, it is me, after all.

But, when it comes down to it, I think about my work as two very distinct sets of activities: the relational, and the transactional.

Transactional activities are very easy to identify. They’re governed by a hedonistic, quid pro quo calculus of getting maximum benefit, from direct – and immediate – action. I do a job, and get paid for my efforts; I do this – I get that.

Relational activities are much less well-defined, but are orders of magnitude more important to one’s reputation – and opportunity for long-term success. Relational activities are conducted with the knowledge that there is no guaranteed, immediate benefit to be gained by any particular action, or behavior. Think Baker’s Dozen. Or even, these podcasts.

Now consider this: is it better to think about business as strictly transactional, or relational?

The answer is, well, it depends.

View original post 178 more words

Leave a Reply

