Trusting Your Gut

Trusting Your Gut

Periodically, I like to revisit some of my posts from several years back – to mine some of my earlier ideas, to see how my thoughts have changed over the years… or sometimes, simply to slap my palm to my face and ask “what the heck was I thinking”

Earlier this week, I was genuinely surprised when I ran across a post that was almost spooky in it’s prescience. I only wish I had done more than make note of what I was seeing at the time. But then again, what would I – or any of us – have done differently?

300 Words, 2 Minutes

Recently, I was going back over some old blog posts, and came across an unusually prescient observation that I made in Juneof 2008.

That summer, myfamily and I werepreparinga move to Orlando, FL, from Nashville, TN.

OnMemorial Day, the family and I drovedown to Orlando, wherewe noticedthat the traffic on I-75 was extremely light for a holiday weekend. Even,abnormally light.

We spent the next few daysat Disney parks-andwe noticedthat all the parks were sparsely attended, at what should have been thebeginningof peak tourist season. We never had to waitlonger than 10 minutes, for any ride in any park, across 3 days of park hopping. Unheard of.

We had the same experience at ourresort pool, and at theresort restaurants. No crowds. Duringpeak summer.

Having lived in Orlando previously (well, Celebration, FL), we were used to the summer peak rush of tourists. But the uncanny lack of tourists that MemorialDay…

View original post 175 more words

Leave a Reply

