… in which I tell a Person How to Do Their Job

… in which I tell a Person How to Do Their Job

I gladly work with PR people and reporters all the time. They are an essential part of messaging, for my own personal “brand”, and for communicating what I do at Hendrix College.

I have worked with extremely talented PR people. And I have worked with firms that barely qualify as professionals.

Without publicly embarrassing the firm that reached out to me this week, let me offer the following tips for a successful interaction:

  • Call when you say you are going to call
  • Know my name
  • Know who I work for
  • Know why you are talking to me
  • Don’t send someone in your place, unannounced
  • Have your questions prepared ahead of time

The call I was on yesterday (with a new PR firm representing one of our vendors) was unbelievably bad. So bad, that the vendor may lose me as a reference.

And I absolutely love, love, LOVE the vendor’s product.

Entrusting key customer stories to second-rate PR is a recipe for disaffection, disengagement, and disaster.

Business is complicated. Relationships matter.

Don’t outsource your relationship management. Unless you don’t care about the relationship’s long term prospects.

2 thoughts on “… in which I tell a Person How to Do Their Job

  1. I appreciated your piece and the gentle reminder regarding customer service and relationship management. Thank you, David. It has made me review my own approach to help our volunteers and constituents feel valued.

    Like

  2. “Entrusting key customer stories to second-rate PR is a recipe for disaffection, disengagement, and disaster.”

    I would like to think that I would make that call myself. Of course, I am a one man show, but if they are a long standing customer whom is very important to your company, you should be willing to engage yourself. Just my thoughts. Love the topics!

    Like

Leave a Reply

