Fall in the Land of the Lotus Eaters

Fall in the Land of the Lotus Eaters

Here in Central FL, Fall is more a state of mind than an actual season change.

I mean, the heat does go from the mid nineties to the mid eighties. So there’s that.

Otherwise, it’s like living in the Land of the Lotus Eaters. Time passes, but the season doesn’t really appear to change.

Even so, my internal clock tells me it’s time for Fall. And it brings back many happy memories.

Like remembering the first book I ever checked out from the school library.

Or the huge Maple tree beside my elementary school that turned a bright scarlet red in October.

Halloweens past.

Cool Friday evenings going to football games.

Bonfires.

Living where everyone vacations does have its tradeoffs. I think I need a weekend trip up north to shock the system.

Leave a Reply

