My Last Blackberry Bitch This Week – I Promise

My Last Blackberry Bitch This Week – I Promise

How do you know when I’m working on a Blackberry Project?

Because of my non-stop bitching about how poor a job the makers of Blackberry have done implementing their SDK.

It would lead one to believe that I don’t like developing for Blackberry on principle. That is not, in fact, the case.

I mean, I love my kids, I love the color of money, and working on Blackberry projects helps me help the ones I love by allowing me to feed, clothe, house, and school them.

But I can’t for the life of me figure out how the management at Blackberry allows some of the big omissions in their platform persist.

What has set me off today, you ask?

This little beauty:

In Blackberry’s Java implementation, there is no way to disable a button programmatically, without deleting it.

Read that again.

In Blackberry’s Java implementation, there is no way to disable a button programmatically, without deleting it.

Seriously.

Again, it’s not like this thing hasn’t been out a few years. I mean, not to shame them or anything, but back in 1996 Visual Basic was able to do this.

Android can do this. Apple can do this.

C’mon Blackberry. You’ve got to do better than this.

Leave a Reply

