Monday Morning Quarterbacking

Monday Morning Quarterbacking

I spent a great deal of time with Android over the weekend – more than anyone ever should over a long, hot, holiday weekend.

By and large, working with Android is a not unpleasant experience.

It just isn’t all that great either, in some very important aspects: screen design, camera operations, and available memory.

All Android apps are constrained to a 16MB heap space for memory. This may seem like a lot, but once an app gets up and running, this memory gets fragmented – fast – so that you dont have large available chunks of contiguous memory just laying around for allocation. Throw in a few moderately sized bitmaps, and hello Mr. OutOfMemoryException. All the bitmap recycling and garbage collection in the world can’t always keep an image bound app and on its feet without its share of crashes owing to not enough memory available from the VM to load new images. In fact, the only way to have a moderately stable image intensive app is to be diligent, garbage collect liberally, and don’t be sentimental about hanging onto anything too long in memory.

The horrible state of screen / UI design tools for Android is an embarrassment. This is not particularly surprising coming from a company slanted toward engineers. I have come to love Apple’s Interface Builder all the more because of the shit you have to put up with on Android and Blackberry. Let me just say that designing screens using an XML text editor blows more than Whale. It blows Blue Whale.

Finally, one of my more vehement dislikes about Android, is the non-consistency across handsets in how images are returned back to applications from the Camera. For iPhone developers used to the very powerful UIImagePicker interface, the operation of the Android Camera Intent is a cold splash of “what the eff is this?”

Really, gentle reader, I don’t want to bore you with all the gory details about camera handling. I’ll simply point you to one of the (sadly) more widely read threads on the topic (http://code.google.com/p/android/issues/detail?id=1480, a classic) and let all the other tortured souls in Android Camera Purgatory speak for themselves.

Given all of the preceding, there is still much to be admired about Android. The fact that new releases can be put into the wild as fast as my fat little fingers can bang out and QA code, rather than the Apple “submit and pray” model, is more than a little awesome. It’s very awesome.

The metrics I get back concerning who has bought (or bought and unbought) compared to what I get from Apple’s Financial Reports is also a great plus for the platform. I’m never really sure with Apple what these numbers represent in terms of actual activity, whereas with Google Checkout I get a scary amount of transaction activity information.

I’ve said this more than a few times: I’m a platform agnostic. I live by a very hedonistic calculus with regard to where I spend my time developing mobile applications – if the platform pays, I play.

Being an aesthete about one platform or another when all I really want to do is pay my kid’s tuition and hopefully my mortgage is a total waste of time.

But it doesn’t mean that one can’t have strong likes and dislikes about the environments you’re working on. And then spending a good chunk of a Monday morning bitching about it.

There. That’s better.

Leave a Reply

