Happy Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day

I spent a wonderful weekend with my two sons and my wife, Melissa, on the Gulf Coast of Florida, capped off with seeing Toy Story at Downtown Disney on the way back home… and found yet another great movie memory that will always remind me of how much I love my family and my two boys.

The Toy Story Franchise is arguably the only film series – aside from The Lord of the Rings – where each successive film outshines the previous one.

Toy Story 3 is a surprising gut shot – and I mean this in the best possible way – for any parent.

You’d have to have a 50 cent block of ice in the place of a heart not to feel something at the end of the movie.  I won’t spoil it for anyone, but the last 20 minutes are even better than the prologue segment of “Up”, which I considered up to now to be the best of anything that has come out of Pixar.

Pixar movies have always held a special place for me.

“Up” hit home for me, personally, in a way that most “grown up” movies never have.  My wife still hasn’t seen it, and is a little reluctant to, because it reflects so much of what we went through in our journey to become parents.

My oldest son and I watched “Nemo” about a dozen times while we passed time waiting for potential buyers to view our house back in 2003.  I can’t hear “There, there, Daddy’s got you” without tearing up a bit.

And even though I got off to a somewhat belated start as a parent – at a time when several of my friends are welcoming their grandkids – I still have trouble remembering what life was like before my sons arrived.

I’m having even more trouble imagining life without them in the all too fast approaching future, when they strike out on their own.

Seeing Toy Story 3 reminded me all too clearly about how quickly our lives together pass (even more so than my 30th high school reunion I missed this weekend.)

I wish every dad a Happy Father’s Day.  I hope you were able to make some great memories today.

I know I did.

Leave a Reply

